Reviews

Reviews and Notes From Our Guestbook

Read what some of our guests have had to say about Blue Fern Cottage! Want to leave your own comments? Contact us, and simply put “Review” in the subject.


  • A fantastic cottage! Private, peaceful, very well equipped and so much to see and do in the area. Perfect base for exploring San Diego county and all it has to offer. The hosts ensured we had all we needed and provided many useful hints without being intrusive. Highly recommended and definitely a place we would come back to.

    Grant from Bahrain. March 2016
  • Pleasantly surprised at the ‘cottage’. Very tranquil setting and also convenient to golf, beach, restaurants. We loved the saturday Farmer’s market in Vista!! Barb and Jim were very gracious hosts. Polite and gentle observing our privacy. We hope to return one day, but no one knows what life holds, so we will hold on the memory of ‘Blue Fern Cottage.’

    Jansen and Deanne from Illinois: March 2016
  • I been renting for couple of month in California. I stay for 3 weeks. In all the other apartment that I stayed before, never I felt what I felt here. This is home outside home. Thanks for the details. I will say you are the best.

    Jesus from Florida. Feb 2016
  • We were here for our son’s 13th birthday trip. The beach and Universal studios were the highlights! The extra beach supplies at Blue Fern Cottage made the beach a joy. Thanks for great memory!

    The V family from Idaho. August 2015
  • We are so thankful to have found such a lovely place to stay while in San Diego. Blue Fern Cottage is tranquil and secluded, yet close to everything! The cookies, wine and flowers were a wonderful welcome to the cottage. I also loved finding “The Message’ bible translation and enjoyed spending time reading it each day. Thank you both so much.

    Chuck and Karen from New Mexico
  • We had a terrific time! After a day at the beach, it was wonderful to come to the cottage away from the crowds. Our kids felt at home. Thank you for your hospitality. We loved yummy cookies, the flowers were beautiful! Thank you again! We cannot wait to return!

     

    The Horvaths from Arizona: July 2015
  • The little visitors in the garden is one of my favorites about your guest house! Another fact is how the hosts manage to think of everything! Alway have fun in San Diego when I come! Hope to back !

    Rita from Vancouver, Canada: June 2015
  • Thank you for the special welcome and delicious cookies and wine, fresh flowers. The only negative aspect, much too short vacation for us!

    Bruce and Marianna from Illinois: May 2015
  • What a delightful home away from home for my spring in San Diego. The “country” setting was wonderful with all the flowers and birds, rabbits, and lizards. Thanks for your thoughtful hospitality!

    Jane from St. Paul, Minnesota: Feb-April, 2015
  • Thank you so much for a wonderful stay here at the blue fern cottage! We loved the house, the patio, the weather, and your hospitality!

    Marianne and SigbJørn from Norway: Jan 2015
  • This is our second stay at Fern Cottage. As always Barbara made us feel right at home. Our children want to return to this beautiful place. Our holidays here will aways be accompanied by fond memories. We hope to return soon. Thank you for everything!

    Teresa from Florence, Italy
  • We had the pleasure of staying at this jewel of a vacation home. Barb and Jim are excellent hosts and we can’t imagine finding a more comfortable and peaceful setting. This was a difficult period for us as our grand babies have been in the nice for 14 weeks. Barb and Jim were extremely supportive to us during this stay. All we can say is ‘look no more’, you won’t find a more ideal situation to get comfortable in. Thank you!

    Michael and Reneé from California: December 2014
  • As always, a great stay! A peaceful setting with great hosts. Only complaint – time flew by too quickly!

    Patty from Edmonton, Canada: October 2014
  • Thank you for a peaceful and enjoyable time at Blue Fern Cottage. It’s a wonderful place to stay. Your hospitality was great, especially the lovely touches like wine, cookies, flowers….. We hope to come back one day!

    Karsten and Annette from Germany: August 2014
  • Always love staying here, and you guys are the epitome of good hosts. The cottage is gorgeous, quiet, you definitely go the extra mile and we can’t thank you enough. Hopefully sooner, rather than later, but for sure we’ll be back!

    Ethan and Stu from Edmonton, Canada: August 2014
  • Our first visit here has been amazing. After a long flight and arriving late at night, what a surprise to have some tea bags and milk. It’s been a fantastic holiday and we look forward to visiting again.

    Frank and June from the U.K.: July 2014
  • Thank you so much for your hospitality during our stay! Your cottage was beautiful and an excellent get away for our honeymoon! It’s been a delight and we appreciate all the little treats, wine and beautiful fresh flowers you’ve provided for us. It’s been difficult to say goodbye, but we hope to come again another time.

    Christopher and Karli from Las Vegas: July 2014
  • A lovely break from winter. Nice to see the colorful flowers and to hear the birds first thing in the morning. Thanks so much.

    Ruby from Edmonton, Canada: April 2014
  • A perfect place we finally found here. Thank you for your generosity. We can feel it everywhere. Tranquility and peace, the smell, the birds, made our trip here! Thank you so much!

    Jocelyne and Ray from Quebec, Canada: March 2014
  • Another great escape from the freezing weather back home. Same wonderful hospitality as in the past plus some great upgrades! Thanks for the steak aging idea, our guests were very happy with the wonderful meal we provided thanks to you. See you again – stay well!

    Rich and Paula from Arkansas: Feb 2014
  • We enjoyed our one month holiday in Southern California and would like to thank Barbaraand Jim for their kind hosting. They are always helpful and well organized. The night calmness at Blue Fern Cottage was quite valuable for us to relax sleep well every night. Your hospitality was wonderful!

    Rosemarie and Hiroshi from Switzerland: Jan 2014
  • What an amazing place to stay! I arrived, tired and not the freshest after a day of journeying; driving in to my own private driveway, then walking up the little stone step pathway to a cute little getaway home and stepping in through the door to feel the cool refreshing air and let down my bags in the big open living area was, well… you can imagine! completely refreshing and relaxing. Not only was it beautifully clean, complete with all amenities you could imagine, but the extras of chocolates (milk as well as dark, should your tastes lean that way); home made cookies, as well as the gorgeous fresh bouquet of exotic flowers lent such a pampered feeling to my arrival. I felt so well taken care of – definitely a little home away from home.

    As a chef, I was eager to try out the kitchen, which had everything I needed to create a delicious meals (the dishes were beautiful, added bonus!). Hosting a dinner party was so easy – and all my guests had such an enjoyable time.

    From a great sound system which you can tune in to your Ipod or just pop in a DVD; to the luxuriating bath and shower; not to mention the bed (which made falling asleep incredibly easy!) – everything was so comfortable, natural, and special. Having a washer and dryer ready for my own personal use was practical and wonderful – they were in this little shed right next to a sitting area outside the front… so cute with a fountain and flowers all around. Perfect for early morning espressos….

    Being a beach lover, exploring several beaches was great – just 20-30 minutes away from awesome beaches, cute little beach towns.

    Barb and Jim were amazing hosts, so kind and more than ready to ensure my stay was better than expected. Their personal touches were a highlight – well, I want to come back! :)

    Carmel from Vancouver
  • We are a family of five from Florence, Italy. Our ten day stay at Blue Fern Cottage was absolutely perfect!! It absolutely exceeded all our expectations. Upon arrival, we were pleasantly surprised by the location. The countryside setting and landcape were beautiful. It gave us an immediate sense of peace and tranquility. Our children loved spending time in the garden. The actual house is very charming. It is very new, spacious and tastefully decorated. It is fully-equipped with a modern kitchen, TV/DVD, WI-FI, laundry room, etc. Our stay was very relaxing. We truly appreciate Barbara’s (the proprietor) warmth and hospitality. Her personal touches (bottle of excellent wine, home-made cookies, local restaurant suggestions), made us feel like special guests and “right at home.” She always respected our space and privacy. We have nothing but high regards for this magnificent place. We are looking forward to returning in the near future. We will ceretainly recommend Blue Fern Cottage to all our friends in Italy who plan on visiting San Diego. It is a special place.

    Giuliano and Teresa M. from Florence, Italy
  • Our 8 night stay at this property was even better than we anticipated from the photos online! Blue Fern Cottage is bright, airy, spotless, and private. The kitchen is fully equipped, including upgraded appliances, all dishware, utensils, cookware, and even spices. The tiled bathroom is very clean and nicely appointed. The great room boasts a large, flat screen TV, comfortable furniture, and CD/DVD player. The garden/patio area is landscaped with lovely mature flowers, trees and bushes, and it is completely private. (Although the owner’s home is about 100 yards behind the guest house, there are no windows on that side of the cottage, and the cottage blocks any view of the patio from the house.) There is even a musical fountain to lull you as you enjoy the sun or a nice dinner outside. We saw lots of birds and a couple of bunnies on the property, as well. We were welcomed with some delicious cookies, a nice bottle of California wine, and citrus fruits from the owner’s own trees. The owner was helpful, but not intrusive. Shopping and restaurants are nearby. We will definitely recommend Blue Fern Cottage to our friends, and we hope to stay there again. It was truly a relaxing and pleasant break from Colorado’s winter!

    Pat & Bill K. from Castlerock, Colorado
  • Recently, my husband and I had the opportunity to spend a week at the Blue Fern Cottage. Our stay there was absolutely wonderful; our experience beyond our expectations. Life at this unique little get away is quite ideal. The accommodations perfectly suited our need for quiet and comfort while being centrally located to shopping, recreation and freeways north, south, east and west. The cottage was impeccable; clean, well-appointed with everything one might want in a home away from home. One has the feeling of “living” in a garden surrounded by greenery, flowers and chirping birds. Our hostess Barbara went above and beyond, making certain we were kindly welcomed at her lovely cottage, and that our needs were met, while at the same time ensuring our privacy. We cannot say enough about this hidden gem. We eagerly look forward to our next stay at this garden oasis.

    Tom & Cathrin E. from Cayucos, CA
  • We were at the Blue Fern Cottage this last August and found there everything we expected and even more. A warm welcoming, a large and quiet garden with fruit trees, a very clean and well equipped house, lots of room for the four of us, wireless internet, and proximity of beautiful beaches and attractions could all be mentioned as highlights of the Cottage. We hope to return to Vista in a near future and get the chance to stay at the Cottage once more. Thanks to the owners.

    Carole, Benoit, Corinne & Bénédicte B. from Montréal, Quebec
  • We really enjoyed our stay at the “Cottage”. Our visit was for our grandson’s first birthday. The cottage made us feel at home as well as pampered. First class accommodations in every way. We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

    Dave & Joanne K. from Michigan
  • The transition from Vancouver to San Diego was amazing. We left rain and cold and were met with sunshine and a feeling of being in the tropics! The time we spent at the guesthouse was incredible. Not only did we find the location perfect, with access to the different beautiful beaches and shopping malls, but the vegetation and scenery surrounding the guesthouse was fascinating – we spent an evening just learning about the different fruit trees, bushes, and shrubs. The cottage itself was a dream – we felt right at home from the moment we walked in. It is very tastefully decorated, and not only are all necessities more than provided for, we were definitely not expecting a deluxe widescreen TV, wireless internet, and a wireless printer! We must mention the dining room chairs – they were so comfortable! As were the bed and couch/hide-a-bed. Our vacation was more than perfect mostly due to the beautiful cottage… and of course the amazingly sunny weather we had! Thank you so much, Shanleys.

    Luke E. from Richmond, B.C.
  • We enjoyed this tropical oasis in a rural setting. Visually there was a vibrance of colour in the garden of both birds and flowers. The guest house that was recently renovated in contemporary California style was indeed lovely. It held the latest in gadgetry and was close to shops. If asked would we ever consider returning there, given the opportunity, the answer would be unhesitatingly, `Yes`!

    Rita & Manfred R. from Vancouver, B.C.
  • We really enjoyed our stay at the ‘guesthouse’ in Vista CA. Staying there was ‘a part of our vacation’ not just where we stayed while on vacation. We loved being able to walk out the front door to be greeted by palm trees and large cactus’. We could just sit there with our coffee and talk while enjoying the beautiful weather. Inside it was the same way. There is a feeling of luxury since it is so beautifully decorated. From enjoying the big screen TV (we came prepared with DVD’s) to having the fridge full of condiments for us to use and the kitchen stocked with the same things we’d have at home, I’d say that it had the ‘comforts of home’ but better!!

    Jim & Della C. from Langley, B.C.
  • I stayed at the cottage for the 2 weeks either side of Thanksgiving. The house is clean and comfortable with everything exactly as shown and as described. The private location is simply lovely – plenty of peace and quiet – it was an excellent place in which to completely unwind. The owner is very helpful, kind and friendly. A great spot to stay and I would certainly book again.

    Judy M. from London, England
  • My partner and I and our 2 children stayed at Blue Fern Cottage for 10 days over New Year. We were welcomed by Christmas lights both outside and inside – a really nice touch. The Cottage is a really interesting property, as well as being attractively presented, clean and well equipped with a lovely modern kitchen. The garden is a great place to sit in the morning sun. The mall with supermarket 3 minutes drive away is very convenient. The owners were friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed ourselves and very much hope we get the chance to stay again. Thanks.

    Colin & Jo B. from Worcester, England
  • The guest house on Fern Place is a wonderful getaway. It’s location is not too far from the beach, golf, animal park or even Disneyland; yet it is tucked away in a quiet, relaxing location. The interior is up-to-date and it has a great kitchen. We loved the guest house and it cost less than the hotel we were considering.

    John & Barbara T. from Williamington, North Carolina
  • The Blue Fern Cottage is an amazing little retreat, tucked away so that you’d never imagine you were surrounded by the city. The furnishings are top-notch, and is complete with anything you’d need, including a selection of books, CDs and DVDs. After a day of theme parks or sightseeing, we would always look forward to coming “home” to unwind. In fact, it is so incredibly peaceful that we enjoyed spending time there as much as anything else we did in San Diego! We would definitely recommend the Cottage to anyone looking for a relaxing place to stay while visiting the San Diego area.

    Alden & Jo S. from Keizer, Oregon
  • The Blue Fern Cottage is ideal for visiting the Vista area, or just having a very relaxed comfortable weekend/week away. It was very comfortable for the five of us, really nicely designed, and has a full kitchen and separate laundry room – all the amenities you could want! While we were visiting family in the area, I would love to come back for a personal retreat – it is lovely and relaxing. Another reason to return are the great owners – I experienced excellent communication, all agreements were perfectly delivered, and we were treated like special guests. There were even Christmas cookies waiting for us when we arrived!

    Kelly & Ana D. from Concord, CA